Banting House NHSC

Taking the Lead at Banting House!

As a summer intern at Banting House, I have spent most of my time thus far learning the ropes – but this week, I am taking charge of the entire museum! Our curator, Grant, is taking a well-deserved break, and thus I am the only staff member in the museum (although help is always just a few steps away in the CDA office).

Although the prospect of being in charge for the week is a daunting one, it is also exciting. With our volunteers only here from 12-4 every day, the office can get very lonely in the mornings! However, I am learning a lot about what it means to be in charge of a museum and the responsibilities associated with it. It is the caretaker’s responsibility to make sure everyone who visits Banting House has the best possible experience, and thus far, I think they have! Like every week at the museum, spontaneity rules, and this makes the job even more exciting.

Taking charge of the museum's day-to-day activities from my office!

Taking charge of the museum’s day-to-day activities from my office!

Ensuring that the museum functions in its day-to-day life is no easy task. Being in charge makes me realize how important our volunteers are to the running of Banting House – without them here, nothing would get done! While it can be exhausting, being caretaker of a National Historic Site of Canada is also very rewarding. It makes me love my job even more!

And so I sign off to go do my duties for the week – I will look forward to seeing Grant next Tuesday now that I have a new appreciation of the job he does!

Let us know what you think - we'd love to hear from you!

Information

This entry was posted on 17/07/2015 by in Behind the Scenes at Banting House and tagged , .

Like Banting House on Facebook!

Follow Banting House on Twitter!

Contact Information and Hours

Banting House is located in London, Ontario at 442 Adelaide Street North. We are open to the public from 12:00pm to 4:00pm on Tuesday through Saturday. We offer some facility rental options.
For more information, please contact: banting@diabetes.ca or view our page at the Canadian Diabetes Association website:
http://www.diabetes.ca/about-us/who/banting-house/

This site is for discussion purposes only and does not represent the official views of Banting House National Historic Site of Canada. Any views expressed on this website are those of the individual post author only. Banting House National Historic Site of Canada accepts no liability for the content of this site.

